Crying at Work

Before the work day officially starts I scan through a few news websites just to stay in touch with what is happening in the world. Jay and I really don’t watch the news. I usually check out USA Today and MSN. While scanning through MSN I came across this story…Just by the title I should have known better than to read it at work.

http://www.msn.com/en-us/lifestyle/mind-and-soul/5-year-old-makes-entire-waffle-house-cry-with-goodwill-gesture-toward-homeless-man/ar-BBjWf8w

This mother and father gets a standing ovation from me! standing ovationI can only hope that when we have a child that is as kind and generous as this little five year old. 

As I got towards the end where the man was asking for bacon I thought I was going to ball like a little baby. Tears were literally streaming down my face and I was desperately trying to not mess up my eye makeup (and it was the first time that I felt like putting any on in over a week).

I always try to be has giving as I can. We don’t like giving money so we try to keep bags of little things people who are homeless or down on their luck can use (toothbrush, toothpaste, etc.) along with some (doesn’t perish quickly) food items. I hate to admit but we ran out of bags a few months ago and I’ve been so consumed with us that we haven’t had a chance to make anymore. My goal after work is to run by Dollar Tree and get the supplies to make some more.

Here is a link to a post I made a year ago about the “hope bags” 

https://livelovelearnteach.wordpress.com/2014/07/07/hope-bags/

If this story touched you as much as it touched me then maybe you can look into making hope bags or doing something for people who aren’t as fortunate as you. I have always been a strong believer in giving back. We don’t have to go see that movie or eat out at Longhorn. Take that money and lift someone up who needs that boost.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Touching. ‘Take that money and lift someone up who needs your boost.’ Great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

