PCOS Diet Research

If you haven’t realized yet I LOVE to research. Now that we know I have PCOS it narrows down my research and makes me calmer. My wonderful doctor and I have decided to try a “diet” to help with the PCOS symptoms and conceiving. I now have the fun (and I’m not being sarcastic) task of researching the best “diet” to follow.

There are so many websites talking about different aspects of insulin resistance and the things to avoid. The websites seem to not go into detail on the exact type of food, only the food category. I need specifics.

Some websites I looked at: 

PCOS: Nutrition Basics

http://www.obgyn.net/weight-management/pcos-and-diet

http://attainfertility.com/article/pcos-diet-strategies

http://www.pcosdietsupport.com/

I’ve decided I would be better with an actual book. On to Amazon! (Amazon Prime…oh how I love you!)

Wow! There is a lot of books about PCOS and what to eat! When I am on Amazon and there are multiple types of the item I am searching for I turn to the reviews. I always rely on others people’s opinions and comments.

At first I thought the look of this book was good but when I read the reviews I wasn’t impressed by what people were saying.

http://www.amazon.com/PCOS-Diet-Plan-Approach-Polycystic/dp/158761023X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1432228124&sr=8-1&keywords=PCOS+diet

The next book I originally skipped because of the title but after not being satisfied with the others I went back to the second one. The reviews on this one is awesome! Also, the “look inside” shows exactly what I want…a list of foods you can have and quantities. (I’m lazy)

http://www.amazon.com/Insulin-Resistance-Diet–Revised-Updated-Fat-Making-Machine/dp/0071499849/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1432225228&sr=8-2&keywords=PCOS+diet

I then had a decision between digital and print. With books normally I always go digital but with this type of book I like to be able to highlight and make notes. I really don’t want to wait for the 2 day shipping that wonderful Amazon Prime provides so…I found it at my local Barnes and Noble for the same price.

Hopefully, this book is the one that will help me jump start my fertility!!! Wish me luck!

I’ll be sure to keep you guys updated!

–Jay has been so great and has decided to go on the diet with me to make it easier. I love him!!!–

5 Comments Add yours

  1. aj says:

    I have PCOS and tried Paleo. I also took metformin. Neither really helped me. Hope the diet helps you!

    Like

    1. rosyposy08 says:

      I’ve recently been prescribed Metformin and hope it helps. What is it that you had issues with? My Dr. said most women suffer from nausea from it, but I haven’t really experienced that yet. I am on a low starting dose though.

      Like

      1. aj says:

        I didn’t really have issues with metformin. I took the extended release version, which I think helped.

        Like

  2. Jein says:

    You have a great attitude! Good luck!! : )

    Like

  3. DitchTheBun says:

    I am a huge researcher too and have visited all the sites you have so it makes me feel like I am finding the right stuff. Thanks for posting the links to the books I will check them out 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

