Clomid Day 1

I took my first pill, of my first round of Clomid, yesterday at 5pm.

I was so nervous because I happen to be allergic to quite a few meds* and anytime I take something new it scares me (I was the same way when I took the Provera for the first time). I had a bottle of liquid benadryl sitting right beside and Jay was ready to have to take me to the ER just in case. Better safe than sorry.

Thankfully, I had no allergic reaction!

This morning I feel pretty good just have itty-bitty dizzy spells every now and then. I know this can be a side-effect of the medicine.

We know the chances of me ovulating on the lowest dose, 50mg, isn’t 100%. We are trying not to get our hopes up where we won’t be upset. I have read about so many women who had to be upped to 100 or even 150mg to get them to ovulate. But…everyone is different, so who knows?

I am just happy that we are finally moving in the right direction.

*I never had to take medicine growing up but when I broke my arm in 10th grade and had my tonsils removed at 20 with also getting mono we found out I am very allergic to most pain medicines and some antibiotics. 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Good luck! I know it is always scary to start new meds, especially with your past experiences! Are you being monitored while on clomid or using OPKs? I know so many people who had trouble and were able to get pregnant with clomid and I hope that that is the case for you!

    Like

    1. j&c says:

      No ultrasounds. Not yet. Right now they will be doing the day 21 progesterone test to check for ovulation. I’m hoping too because the side effects are starting to increase. Hot flashes are no fun. I’d like for this to be all worth it. Thanks!!!

      Like

      1. I agree, hot flashes are awful! Hopefully your body is able to adjust to the medicine so you aren’t dealing with so many side effects.

        Like

  2. Krista says:

    Good luck with Clomid! It does work…so be ready! It’ll be so worth it, too. I understand that the side effects can really suck, but you won’t care when you see the BFP at some point. Don’t get discouraged if it doesn’t happen the first month. It usually takes a few rounds! 🙂

    Like

    1. j&c says:

      We have prepared ourselves not to be too hopefully about the first round since I’ve read so much where it usually doesn’t work. The side effects haven’t been nearly as bad as with the Provera! Thanks for the luck sent our way. We need all we can get!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

