CD 29 (Negative Pregnancy Tests)

My doctor, Dr. P, instructed me to take a pregnancy test on day 28. Of course I did (you don’t have to tell me twice to pee on a stick) and it was negative and took another test this morning and negative as well. As far as I know I am not pregnant. PCOS=1    J&C+Clomid=0

But let me tell you the crazy thing…on day 27 I took a pregnancy test…(I couldn’t help myself) and I saw something…something that appeared to be a faint line, no pink color (I’m using First Response Early Result) but there was a line. I had Jay look at it and he saw a line. I posted it on a FB group for women with PCOS and trying to conceive and they all saw a line! Jay told me not to get my hopes up, my mom told me not to get my hopes up (of course I called my momma), but I did.

Here is a pic of that test I posted online:


The next day when I tested and there was no line I was devastated. Just crushed. I couldn’t understand. I was convinced that I would see a line that was just a little bit darker. I spent all day Friday depressed. I cried. A lot. I started doing tons of research towards the afternoon and evening hours about false positives, evap lines, faulty tests, etc. I was already in bed when I figured out something I may be able to do to look at the test but was too tired to get up.

When I woke up this morning I took a test (I have a legitimate excuse) and it was negative but now I had something to compare to the other test. I took my iPhone, turned the flash on to flashlight mode and shined a light behind the test I just took. I saw the test line clearly and nothing else. I expected this. I took the other test (I hadn’t thrown it out yet…) and did the same thing and you won’t believe what I saw. The best way I can describe it is an air bubble. You could clearly see a bubble in the test where there was a bit of a jagged line where the positive line should be and then the other side of the bubble ended right before where the test line was. I couldn’t believe my eyes. Clearly the test is faulty but the difference in the light refraction was able to make the bubble edges look like a very faint line. I took a picture but it’s very hard to see the bubble.

Faulty test:


You would think I am angry about this. I am not. I’m actually insanely happy because I spent Friday thinking I had a chemical pregnancy but now I know I was never pregnant it was just a faulty test.

I have been very crampy yesterday and today with very, very sore breasts. I believe these are signs of my period approaching but to be honest I am not sure because it’s been awhile since I have had a naturally starting cycle. Good ol’ Provera has been doing that.

We are already looking to our next cycle and figuring out the days I will be taking Clomid and the days we will be “trying” because we have a wedding in less than a month with family and friends staying with us. Eek!

The only thing that has me remotely holding on to hope is my wonky basal body temperature chart.


I clearly ovulated on CD17 which was confirmed with blood work. Now, based on all my internet searching implantation takes anywhere from 7-10 days after ovulation.

https://www.fertilityfriend.com/Faqs/Implantation-time-and-signs.html

Counting from the day of ovulation I could have implanted from CD 24-27. Let’s say I implanted on the latest day- CD 27 then it would be too early to test positive. Again, based on all my research (I love research!) it takes 4-5 days for enough HCG to build up in your system to get a positive pregnancy test. But that also depends on the women. So, that would be CD 31-32.

http://implantationspotting.net/implantation-bleeding-pregnancy-test/

Now, I have heard of something called an implantation dip in a basal body temp chart but I’ve only heard of a one day dip. I had a 3 day dip. Could this be implantation? I have no clue. And to add to the confusion I had a very, very small amount of spotting on CD 25. I suppose it could be implantation but I seriously doubt it (I’m a Debby Downer).

All we can do is wait. Have I mentioned I hate waiting?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Fingers crossed that you have a late implanter !!

    Like

    1. j&c says:

      Thanks! I have such a pessimistic mind set that it’s hard for me to believe but there is always a chance.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We all do when it comes to this process. It is not easy. I am just a firm believer that “as a man thinketh, so is he”…. so believe that it is going to happen ! Put it out there in the universe. Make the universe rise up to meet you ! xoxo

        Like

  2. Oh man. So sorry you had to go through that. I had a faulty test about six months ago and ended up telling my husband I thought I was pregnant….he hugged me, we danced and cried and then the next morning I took a test and it was negative. Heart wrenching. Here is pushing lots and lots of baby dust to you though! Looking forward to more of your posts!

    Like

    1. j&c says:

      I’m so sorry that you had to go through that as well. It really is so heartbreaking to think you are and then to find out it was a faulty test. Thank you for the support. It means so much!

      Like

  3. aj says:

    Glad you were able to cycle on your own! I stopped charting because it stressed me out too much (and I never had a “normal” chart). If this cycle isn’t the one, I hope the next one is 🙂

    Like

    1. j&c says:

      This cycle ended yesterday. Boo! Onto hopping this next cycle is the one. Charting can definitely be frustrating but not as nearly as frustrating as taking opks. They never work correctly for me!

      Like

  4. Meghan Chiszar says:

    I just had the same thing happen and I got so excited because I had a miscarriage in October. It literally crushed me when I saw the bubble I got so excited cause husband for once saw this line for once because he never sees my imaginary lines lol. But it broke my heart and I am so pissed because that’s the second time it’s happened with frer.

    Like

    1. Cin and Jay says:

      Yeah it really sucks! I’ve actually had it happen since I gave birth. I though I was pregnant one month and took a test and that damn bubble was their again! It’s evil!

      Like

Leave a Reply

