34 weeks and Bed Rest

*The cardiologist and OB has decided it is best for me to go on “bed rest” for the remainder of the pregnancy. It is a modified bed rest. I can get up and move around but if I start feeling bad then I am to sit/lay until I feel better. They really just want me to rest so that is what I have been doing. I feel terrible about leaving work high and dry especially my students but I have to do what is best for myself and Theodore.

How far along? 34 weeks 6 days. App says baby should be 17.7 inches long and weighing 4.7 pounds but we know hr is bigger than that.

Total weight gain/loss? +11.4  pounds.

Maternity clothes? All the time!

Sleep? It has gotten a bit better since I have been able to take naps. I am taking about a two hour nap everyday and it is wonderful.

Best moment this week? Just making it another week. We are just taking it day by day. The longer he can stay in the better.
Symptoms? Hip/lower back pain, feeling hot often when it’s not hot in the room, mild-moderate swelling in my hands and feet, hunger.

Food cravings? Milk, milk, milk and milk with cereal.

Food aversions? Acidic things and steak.

Gender? It’s a boy and we are so in love with our little man!

Labor signs? Nope. I have been having increased pressure, sharp stabbing pains down yonder, and some contractions on and off but nothing substantial.

Belly button in or out? Flat.

What I miss? Being able to walk around without feeling like I am running a marathon.

What I’m looking forward to? Our baby shower this Saturday!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Erin says:

    I’m thinking of you! Hopefully your little man stays in there until closer to the due date. Don’t feel too bad about work, I just moved my last day of work up by 2 weeks. It’s hard teaching while pregnant! Plus you need some down time to take care of yourself before baby arrives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

