1 month of baby Theodore

It has been a month (more than a month) since Theodore arrived. It has been a crazy, tiring, joyful ride adjusting to taking care of this little human.

Let me tell you a little bit about my little man:

He is a little monster! I say that with all the love of a mother but I am serious. This kiddo goes from 0 to 100 in a split second. There is no in between with him. He doesn’t give you a warning that he is hungry, needs changing, uncomfortable, etc. One second he is calm the next second he is screaming his head off.

He drinks/eats like there is no tomorrow. He easily puts away 4 ounces each feeding. I keep thinking that there is no way he can be eating this much but the doctor says that it is normal. He is gaining weight well and he knows what he needs with food and let him eat. And we do. I’m just amazed. Along with feeding he hates us taking the bottle out to burp him. He makes this sound that honestly sounds like he is growling at you. If you weren’t fighting his flailing little arms and legs trying to attack you it would be adorably cute.

-Feeding: So…I will make a separate post about this but we are currently doing the majority expressed breast milk, usually 4-8 ounces of formula a day (because my supply isn’t keeping up with his demand), and a few feedings at the breast. He has latch issues.

He LOVES tummy time! His neck control has been impressive since birth and he now can hold his head up for a good solid 30 seconds easily. Yesterday during tummy time he was trying to turn over and I really thought he was going to get it a few times. I swear he will be crawling soon the way he is going.

He loves bath time. (not sponge baths, he hated those) I am so glad he likes baths. I couldn’t imagine trying to clean him if he was screaming and fighting. He happily sits there moving his little legs in the water. He especially likes when we trickle water over him. I like to think it has something to do with when I was pregnant with him. I took a lot of baths to relieve back pain and I would trickle water over my belly all the time. Maybe he remembers the sound?

He hates being changed. I am hoping this changes as he gets older. Every time we change him he screams and kicks. The kicking becomes an issue when he kicks his little foot into a dirty diaper. Sigh.

Car rides make him go to sleep almost instantly. I am so thankful!

He loves momma. He can be upset and he comes to me and calms down almost instantly (unless he is hungry then he is trying to attack my boob). Daddy is actually a bit upset that he isn’t able to calm him down. I keep telling him that he is use to me because he has been hanging out with me for 9 months on the inside and he understands that. But…he is such a great partner and when he comes home from work he wants to take over completely to give me a break and then usually takes a shift at night and when little man gets fussy and he isn’t able to console him and has to pass him to me/or wake me up he beats himself up about not being able to do enough. I love him so much for trying to help as much as possible. It really means so much to me. There are some days when he has been fussy/clingy ALL day that I do need that break when Jay comes home. Though, I am not going to lie…I take a pleasure in being the one that calms him down. He can be so upset and I get him and put him on my chest (that is his favorite place) and he just calms down, looks at me or just goes right to sleep. It is such a wonderful feeling knowing that I am his soother.

Stats on Theodore: At birth he weighed 8 pounds 4 ounces and was 20″ long. At his 1 month checkup he weighs 10 pounds 11 ounces which is in the 70th percentile and he is 21.5″ long which is in the 42nd percentile. Yay for growing baby!

Here are a few pictures of him through his 1st month from his first few days till now. 

   
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Erin says:

    What a cutie!! I’m having breastfeeding issues, we’re doing expressed breast milk and supplementing with formula. Gotta do what you gotta do!

    Like

  2. DitchTheBun says:

    Oh my goodness he is the cutest! Look at his little chubba cheeks.

    Like

    1. Cin and Jay says:

      He has momma’s chubby cheeks for sure!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

